Cultural Mediation and Cultural Creativity: The Translating Activities of Multilingual Jewish Authors from Bukovina

The selected authors were all of Jewish background, lived in Bukovina for a long time, and had to flee their home because they were, directly or indirectly, victims of the Holocaust. Moreover, all of them spoke German as either their primary or only mother tongue, could speak at least three or four languages fluently, and in exile further expanded their multilinguality. After leaving their home region, these authors were not only actively engaged in literary activities but devoted themselves to translation, in which they self-consciously understood themselves as cultural mediators.

The exploration of the translation and literary activities of these Bukovina authors is a case study that offers the possibility of comparing aspects of these two different activities. The study allows different exilic situations as well as commonalities between the authors (given their grouping under a common place of origin) to be reliably determined while at the same carefully distinguishing between the individual profiles.

Seven working groups of researchers representing the languages of the respective countries of origin will explore the translation activities of the Bukovina authors on the basis of given issues and criteria in translation theory. Outcomes of the investigation will be presented in a concentrated way at working meetings.

Term of Project: 2004
Research endowment funding 2004

Project Members:
Prof. Bernhard Spies (German Literary Studies)
Dr. Frank Hoffmann (History Studies; Institut für Deutschlandforschung (IDF), University of Bochum)
Dr. Natalia Shchyhlevska (German Literary Studies)

Shchyhlevska, Natalia (2004): Bukowiner Dichter als Übersetzer Jessenins. In: Exilforschung. Ein internationales Jahrbuch, Vol. 25/2007. P. 227-246.

Kulturvermittlung und kulturelle Kreativität. Die Übersetzungstätigkeit mehrsprachiger jüdischer Autoren aus der Bukowina

Die ausgewählten Autoren waren alle jüdischer Herkunft, haben über längere Zeit in der Bukowina gelebt und mussten ihre Heimat verlassen, weil sie direkt oder indirekt Opfer des Holocaust wurden. Für sie alle war Deutsch die Muttersprache bzw. eine der Muttersprachen und sie waren in der Regel mindestens drei- oder viersprachig und weiteten im Exil ihre Mehrsprachigkeit noch stärker aus. Nach dem Verlust der Heimat wurden diese Autoren im Exil nicht nur als Literaten aktiv, sondern widmeten sich der übersetzerischen Tätigkeit, wobei sie sich bewusst als Kulturvermittler verstanden.
Die Erforschung der übersetzerisch-literarischen Tätigkeit der Bukowiner Autoren versteht sich als eine Fallstudie, die die Möglichkeit bietet, die Aspekte dieser Tätigkeit nicht nur zu erforschen, sondern auch zu vergleichen. Durch die Untersuchung lassen sich - bedingt durch die Konstellation eines gemeinsamen Herkunftsorts - unterschiedliche Exilsituationen sowie Gemeinsamkeiten der Autoren zuverlässig feststellen und zugleich die individuellen Profile sehr weit differenzieren.
In sieben Arbeitsgruppen von Forschern aus den Herkunftsländern der jeweiligen Sprachgruppen sollen anhand von vorgegebenen Fragestellungen und Kriterien die Übersetzertätigkeit der jeweiligen Autoren untersucht werden und Ergebnisse in Arbeitskonferenzen gebündelt werden.

Projektlaufzeit: 2004
Forschungsfondsförderung 2004

Projektbeteilige:
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Spies (Germanistik)
Dr. Frank Hoffmann (Geschichtswissenschaft; Institut für Deutschlandforschung/ Universität Bochum)

Mitarbeiterin:
Dr. Natalia Shchyhlevska (Germanistik)

Publikation:
Shchyhlevska, Natalia (2004): Bukowiner Dichter als Übersetzer Jessenins. In: Exilforschung. Ein internationales Jahrbuch, Bd. 25/2007. S. 227-246.