Spheres of Global Arab Communities - With a Focus on Brazil and the U.S.


The dynamic exchange of data and the ease in moving around a globalized world makes a new definition of migration necessary. The by now familiar theoretical concepts of diaspora, third space, transnational migration and network make an alternative, empirical examination of migration possible. These concepts place the community of migrants at the center of analysis. Permanent communication, symbolic interaction, and the ethnic colony are thus potent dimensions of its globe-spanning sociocultural organization.

The Arab immigrant communities in the Arab Mashriq in Brazil and the U.S. cultivated specific “life spheres” out of regular routines, symbolic practices, and established discourses that were nourished through worldwide kinship and community relations. Numerous publications have thematized the emigration of the Arab section of the population in the Levant who left for the New World. The majority of these articles describe the emergence of Arab communities in various countries in terms of a historical perspective. The United States, Brazil, and Argentina were the main destinations of Palestinian, Lebanese, and Syrian emigrants. Although immigration to Brazil has sharply declined since the 1950s, in the U.S. it is as strong as ever. It is thus particularly interesting to compare the different dynamics of Brazil, as former migration destination at the beginning of the 20th century, with that of the U.S., where immigration continues to this day. Studies that examine the integration of Arab immigrants often speak of economic assimilation and cultural independence existing simultaneously. However, the links between Arab immigrants and their journeys to the intake countries being studied here with family members in both the country of origin and other places around the world are complex and cannot be encapsulated in a single concept (cf. Escher 1997; 2000; 2004). Arab “life spheres” in different countries should therefore be observed from a theoretical perspective which encompasses processes of migration and socialization in a global age (cf. Escher 2006; 2008). In a globalized world, these Arab communities transcend borders: Spatial distance no longer has the same significance; the segmented structure of these communities reach far beyond their physical homes in the intake countries to countless other countries in the world. Drawing on the social concept of “life spheres,” this study attempts to grasp these socially intertwined and spatially distributed communities beyond the conventional social scientific concepts and thereby bring to light cultural differences between Arab communities’ “life spheres” in different countries. Empirical investigations using a mix of methods will be carried out in the source countries of Syria, Lebanon, and Palestine as well as in the destination countries of Brazil and the U.S.

The initial research questions are as follows:

  1. How do Arab communities form global “life spheres”?
  2. How do Arab “life spheres” emerge and function, and in which social, cultural, and political systems are they embedded?
  3. What role does place play in the global “life spheres” of Arab populations?

Brazil and the U.S. are particularly appropriate countries for study because of their numerically large Arab communities. As well, the communities are very active culturally, socially, economically and politically and are networked with many states around the world. This can be seen in the numerous Arab institutions and media organs that have been founded, such as radio stations and newspaper publishers as well as Internet presence in the respective countries. The processes and strategies of global “life spheres” can thus be very well demonstrated on the basis of the model-like development of Arab communities in these countries along with their strong media presence. At the same time, the comparison of different “life spheres” in different states opens up new perspectives for comparative research on Arab migration.

Empirical studies of Arab communities in Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago, Australia, Chile, Brazil, and Ecuador have been conducted under the supervision of the project director and as part of degree theses work. Currently, doctoral dissertations on Syrian and Lebanese communities in Argentina and West Africa are being supervised.

Project Term: January 2010-Ongoing
Funded by Förderlinie 1, JGU Mainz

Project Director: Prof. Dr. Anton Escher, Geographic Institute, JGU Mainz

Project Staff:
Björn Zimprich, Cert. Geographer, JGU Mainz
Tobias Boos, Cert. Geographer, JGU Mainz

Cooperation Partners:

Prof. Paul Tabar
Director of the Institute for Migration Studies
Lebanese American University, Beirut

Arabische Lebenssphären in der globalisierten Welt (Schwerpunkt Brasilien und USA) – Spheres of Global Arab Communities (Focus on Brasil and USA)

Fotos 

Der dynamische Austausch von Informationen und die unkomplizierte Möglichkeit des Ortswechsels in der globalisierten Welt macht eine Neudefinition von Migration notwendig. Die inzwischen etablierten theoretischen Konzepte Diaspora, Dritter Raum, Transnationale Migration und Netzwerk ermöglichen eine alternative empirische Untersuchung des Phänomens. Sie stellen die Gemeinschaft der Migranten in den Mittelpunkt der Analyse. Permanente Kommunikation, symbolische Interaktion und ethnische Kolonie sind dabei wirksame Dimensionen der weltumspannenden soziokulturellen Organisation.

Die arabischen Einwanderergemeinschaften aus dem arabischen Maschrek in Brasilien und den USA bildet über regelmäßige Routinen, symbolische Praktiken und feststehende Diskurse spezifische Lebenssphären aus, die durch weltweite verwandtschaftliche und gemeinschaftliche Beziehungen genährt werden. Zahlreiche Publikationen thematisieren arabischstämmige Bevölkerungsgruppen aus der Levante, die sich in Einwanderungsländern der Neuen Welt niederließen. Der Großteil der Aufsätze beschreibt die Entstehung von arabischen Gemeinschaften in verschiedenen Ländern der Welt aus historischer Perspektive. Die Vereinigten Staaten, Brasilien und Argentinien waren die Hauptziele der palästinensischen, libanesischen und syrischen Migranten. Während die Migration nach Brasilien seit den 1950er Jahren stark nachlässt, hält sie in die USA bis heute an. Besonders interessant ist daher der Vergleich zwischen den unterschiedlichen Dynamiken Brasiliens, als ehemaliges Migrationsziel des beginnenden 20. Jahrhunderts, und den USA, in der die Migration bis heute anhält. In Studien, die sich mit der Integration der arabischen Migranten beschäftigen, wird oftmals von einer ökonomischen Assimilation bei gleichzeitiger kultureller Eigenständigkeit gesprochen. Die Verbindungen der arabischen Migranten und ihrer Nachfahren in den untersuchten Aufnahmeländern mit Familienmitgliedern im Herkunftsland und anderen Orten der Welt sind komplex und nicht mit einem singulären Konzept fassbar (vgl. Escher 1997, 2000, 2004). Die arabischen Lebenssphären in verschiedenen Ländern der Welt müssen daher von einer theoretischen Perspektive aus betrachtet werden, die es erlaubt, Migrations- und Vergesellschaftungsprozesse in Zeiten der Globalisierung zu erfassen (vgl. Escher 2006, 2008). In der globalisierten Welt überwinden diese Gemeinschaften Grenzen; räumliche Distanz verliert an Bedeutung und die segmentär organisierten Strukturen reichen über die Wohnorte in den Aufnahmeländern hinaus in zahlreiche andere Länder der Welt. Mit Hilfe des Gesellschaftskonzepts der Sphären wird versucht, die sozial verflochtenen und räumlich geteilten Gemeinschaften jenseits der bekannten sozialwissenschaftlichen Konzepte zu fassen und dabei die kulturelle Differenz der Lebenssphären der Gemeinschaft in unterschiedlichen Ländern zu thematisieren. Mit einem Methodenmix sollen empirische Untersuchungen in den Quellländern Syrien, Libanon und Palästina sowie in den Zielländern Brasilien und USA durchgeführt werden.
Zunächst ergeben sich folgende Forschungsfragen:

  1. Wie gestalten die arabischen Gemeinschaften ihre globalen Lebenssphären?
  2. Wie entstehen und funktionieren arabische Lebenssphären und in welche sozialen, kulturellen und politischen Gefüge sind sie eingebettet? 
  3. Welche Rolle spielen Orte für die globalen Lebenssphäre der arabischen Bevölkerung?

Die Länder Brasilien und die USA eignen sich auch deshalb besonders zur Durchführung der Studie, da hier zahlenmäßig große arabische Gemeinschaften existieren. Die Gemeinschaften sind kulturell, sozial, ökonomisch und politisch sehr aktiv und über zahlreiche Staaten der Erde vernetzt. Dies wird durch die Gründung zahlreicher arabischer Institutionen und Organe wie Radiostationen und Zeitungsverlage sowie Internetpräsenz in den jeweiligen Ländern deutlich. Aufgrund der modellhaften Entwicklung der arabischen Gemeinschaft in diesen Ländern und ihrer gleichzeitig hohen medialen Präsenz, können die Prozesse und Strategien der globalen Lebenssphären sehr gut exemplarisch dargestellt werden. Gleichzeitig öffnen sich aus dem Vergleich unterschiedlicher Lebenssphären in unterschiedlichen Staaten neue Perspektiven zur komparativen Erforschung der arabischen Migration.

Unter der Anleitung des Projektleiters wurden im Rahmen von Abschlussarbeiten bereits empirische Untersuchungen über arabische Gemeinschaften in Mexiko, Trinidad und Tobago, Australien, Chile, Brasilien und Ecuador durchgeführt, momentan werden zwei Dissertationen über syrische und libanesische Gemeinschaften in Argentinien und Westafrika betreut.

Projektbeginn:
Januar 2010 (Förderung der Förderlinie 1 der JGU)

DFG-Projekt „Libanesische globale Dorfgemeinschaften: Praktiken zur Bildung und Erhaltung globaler Gemeinschaften“ ab 2013

Projektleiter: Prof. Dr. Anton Escher

Projektmitarbeiter:
Dr. rer. nat.Tobias Boos
Dipl. Geograph Björn Zimprich

 

Kooperationspartner:


Prof. Dr. Paul Tabar
Associate Professor of Sociology
Department of Social Sciences
Director of the Institute for Migration Studies
Lebanese American University

siehe auch:
Boos, Tobias (2013): Ethnische Sphären. Über die emotionale Konstruktion von Gemeinschaft bei syrisch- und libanesischstämmigen Argentiniern. Bielefeld, 276 S.