"Mobility and Partnership" between Mainz and South Korea

Institute of Educational Science at JGU Mainz Awarded DAAD Funding

8 March 2010

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) has allocated funds for the Institute of Educational Science at Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, for the program “Mobility and Partnership” in order to intensify, within the framework of a partnership agreement, its existing cooperation with Kangnam University in Yongin, South Korea. This cooperation is reflected in, among other things, ongoing “Summer School Abroad” programs as well as in student exchanges. International cooperation was also recognized as one of the reasons the funds were awarded by the German Academic Exchange Service, which stated: “Internationality is an inevitable element of higher education today.” The financial support should thus “contribute to a long-term consolidation of the existing bilateral partnership with Korea, to the further qualifications of young scholars in the respective partner countries as well as to the internationalization of German higher education, thereby strengthening studies and research in Germany.”

The cooperation has been initiated and put into practice at the University of Mainz by the Institute of Educational Science’s Working Group on Educational Science and Development, under the direction of Prof. Detlef Garz. The South Korean partner is the Institute of Human Development at the Graduate School of Social Welfare, headed by Prof. Hyo Seon Lee. The bilateral cooperation concerns two aspects in particular: student and faculty exchange and joint courses focusing on questions of qualitative reconstructive social research and work on joint research projects. Here research on the Korean “working migration” to Germany in the 1960s and 1970s is important, as well as analyses of the return and/or further migration of workers and the employment of adult “second generation” workers in Germany.

Within the framework of this DAAD-funded program, “Mobility and Partnership,” and during the two-year period between 2010 and 2012, several students and doctoral candidates from the University of Mainz will be able to undertake a one-month research stay at Kangnam University, where they will do research and take part in courses together with Kangnam students and doctoral candidates. Similarly, Kangnam University students and doctoral candidates will be able to complete research stays at the University of Mainz.

"Mobilität und Partnerschaft" zwischen Mainz und Südkorea

Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft der Universität Mainz erhält Förderung durch den DAAD

08.03.2010

Der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) hat dem Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz finanzielle Mittel im Rahmen des Programms "Mobilität und Partnerschaft" zur Verfügung gestellt, um die bestehende aktive Zusammenarbeit mit der Kangnam Universität in Yongin, Südkorea, im Rahmen eines Partnerschaftsabkommens zu intensivieren. Diese Kooperation spiegelt sich unter anderem in der wiederholten Durchführung der "Summer School im Ausland" sowie in einem Studierendenaustausch wider. "Internationalität ist heute unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der Hochschulen", so der DAAD in seiner Begründung der Mittelvergabe. Insofern soll die Unterstützung einen "Beitrag leisten zur längerfristigen Verfestigung bestehender bilateraler Partnerschaften mit Korea, zur weiteren Qualifizierung des akademischen Nachwuchses in den jeweiligen Partnerländern sowie zur Internationalisierung der deutschen Hochschulen und damit zur Stärkung des Studien- und Wissenschaftsstandorts Deutschland."

Die Zusammenarbeit wird an der Universität Mainz federführend von der Arbeitsgruppe Entwicklung und Erziehung am Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft unter der Leitung von Professor Dr. Detlef Garz initiiert und umgesetzt. Der südkoreanische Partner ist das "Institute of Human Development" der Graduate School of Social Welfare unter der Leitung von Professor Dr. Hyo Seon Lee. Das bilaterale Zusammenarbeit umfasst vor allem zwei Aspekte: den Austausch von Studierenden und Lehrenden sowie die Durchführung gemeinsamer Lehrveranstaltungen insbesondere zu Fragen der qualitativ-rekonstruktiven Sozialforschung sowie die Bearbeitung gemeinsamer Forschungsprojekte. Hierzu zählt in erster Linie die Erforschung der koreanischen 'working migration' nach Deutschland in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren, aber auch die Analyse der Rückkehr und Weiterwanderung sowie die Beschäftigung mit der in Deutschland aufgewachsenen 'Zweiten Generation'.

Im Rahmen des DAAD-Programms "Mobilität und Partnerschaft" werden sich mehrere Studierende sowie Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Universität Mainz in den Jahren 2010 bis 2012 je einen Monat an der Kangnam Universität aufhalten, um gemeinsam mit den dortigen Kolleginnen und Kollegen an Veranstaltungen teilzunehmen und zu forschen. Ebenso werden koreanische Studierende sowie Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Kangnam Universität auch die Universität Mainz besuchen.