ZIS Academic Events

Conferences

Conferences, symposia, and congresses will be and/or are supported by ZIS or significantly initiated by active members of ZIS. The events are generally interdisciplinary in nature and accessible to the public. Many of the past conferences have been followed up by a volume of conference proceedings.

Further Events

The Center organizes an annual event of its own in which current research on interculturality is presented and contemporary topics are discussed with representatives from science and politics. Moreover, the event offers visitors the possibility to gain an overview of the current state of research within ZIS as a whole. In addition, the public is presented with insider knowledge of ethnic events by means of workshops and introductory sessions carried out in co-operation with other organizers.

Participation in the Academic Fair

“Scholarship in Your Hands” is Johannes Gutenberg University’s annual academic fair, which takes place in the city center of Mainz. ZIS actively takes part by organizing a large selection of workshops, academic discussions open to the public, onstage interviews, as well as themed musical performances.

Veranstaltungen

Tagungen

Tagungen, Symposien, Konferenzen und Kongresse, die vom ZIS unterstützt bzw. maßgeblich von den aktiven Mitgliedern des ZIS initiiert werden / wurden. Die Veranstaltungen sind meist interdisziplinär angelegt und für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Zu zahlreichen stattgefundenen Tagungen liegen mittlerweile Tagungsbände vor.

Weitere Veranstaltungen

Das ZIS organisiert einmal jährlich eine eigene Veranstaltung, auf der aktuelle Interkulturalitätsforschung präsentiert, aktuelle Themen mit Vertretern aus Wissenschaft und Politik diskutiert werden und die Möglichkeit zum Einblick in den aktuellen Forschungsstand der gesamten Forschung im ZIS gegeben wird. Darüber hinaus werden in Kooperation mit anderen Veranstaltern ethnische Eventereignisse mit Workshops, Einführungen etc. für die Öffentlichkeit mit Hintergrundwissen bereichert.

Wissenschaftsmarktsteilnahme

Einmal im Jahr bietet die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität in der Mainzer Innenstadt „Wissenschaft zum Anfassen“. Das Zentrum nimmt jedes Jahr aktiv mit einem großen eigenen Angebot an Workshops, interaktiver Wissensvermittlung, Diskussionen und Bühnengesprächen sowie thematisch eingebundenen musikalischen Vorführungen teil.